Search
Search in
Webshop
Pages
Posts

Fashion opens new spaces wherein the human moves

art point designer Lena Kvadrat talks to Liudmila Aliabieva, Muscovit editor-in-chief of the magazine „Fashion Theory“*

Published in Rondo, weekend supplement of the daily newspaper Der Standard, Oct 14, 2016.

LA: You founded your label art point at the end of the 90s in Russia under the conditions of a transitional economy. In 2001 you moved to Austria, and since then you have lived and worked in Vienna. Your collections have titles like “Crisis of the body”, “Traces”, “Fold’, or currently “Re:validation”, about which you also write texts and essays.

Your clothes are wearable, but on the runway you present them in the form of performances, and amend them with “unwearable” attributes/accessories such as white skateboards, eyewear with white glass, wigs on oversized peaks of baseball caps. For your collection “Escapism” you even wrote special lyrics…

You have been running a Concept Store in Vienna for many years, which you recently re-designed and expanded. At the same time you have consolidated your label on an international level. Your clothes are worn in Canada, USA, Russia, China, and Japan. Starting from this basic information regarding your development, I would like to pose the first question: What is the role of the “theory of fashion” in your work as a designer?

LKV: Fashion theory as a structural model nurtures our understanding that there is no clear boundary between concept and phenomenon in reality, both are elements of the overall system. It helps us to stay above the water, at the moment of the birth and death of trends.

These fast moving phenomena are based on different layers of information: corporeal practices, the duality of fashion, the perception of oneself as an other through clothes, cultural codes, paradigm shifts. Theory serves as a system of coordinates that helps us to find the best path for our work, and keeps us from being drowned in the “ocean of fashion”.

LA: You define the act of selling as a purely communicative process. You conduct seminars with your employees, and also offer them to the public. You completely avoid the typical opening dialogue between sales person and customer such as “May I help you?” or “Are you looking for something specific?”. What do you offer your customers instead?

LKV: Yes, I understand fashion mainly as a form of communication. For selling this means primarily paying attention to what the customer is focused on. The first information about the product must be concise and is preferably offered in a playful way, which requires a rather “bold” approach to information transfer.

Suggestive questions about the physical needs of warmth or coolness, length or shortness, narrowness or width help in formulating an image of a potential purchase. “Potentiality” is for me the key concept in retail theory. Today the customer, in terms of the material aspects of the product, does not need anything. It’s not about what we wear, but rather about our indirect affiliation to an idea, the desire to have something in one’s field of vision, to own it, as a form of participation.

Fashion communicates a permanent surplus in this or that direction, it does not let the scales freeze into a state of balance. So what has already been seen becomes uninteresting from the perspective of the new, but it is still worn, now from the angle of experience. And at the end of the season the pendulum of width, thickness, length, and other parameters swings back in exactly the opposite direction. For what?

So the economy of the “a-ha!”-effect automates itself and brings on the next step of consciousness. Change – this is what the human is occupied with. A new combination of components. Fashion has no unwritten prohibitions … in the long term. It reminds us of the ephemeral nature of any stability. The customer today looks for ideas that mirror his or her immersion in the world of potential.

The essential moments of communication with customers are for me: brevity, speed, humor. A key to a situation: In order to quickly understand the direction of the customer’s thoughts we do not show one, but two samples from a group. We comment on the product from the perspective of its functional properties and its position within one or other duality of fashion, rather than from the emotional perspective of the sales person.

Lena Kvadrat | Re:validation. Black & white post-ethnographic notes, 2016 | Digital print on Backlit Display | 240 x 160 cm

Lena Kvadrat | Re:validation. Black & white post-ethnographic notes, 2016 | Digital print on Backlit Display | 240 x 160 cm

LA: I asked the editorial team to insert an image before our dialogue that was created as part of your recent artistic project “Post-Ethnographic Notes”. In this work you play with the theme of fashion campaigns. For the shooting, in which some of your regular customers participated, samples of your upcoming summer collection 2017 were used that have already been presented at international fairs and are currently produced for your distribution partners.

In the vitrines of the exhibition accessories were shown under glass (shoes, bags, jewelry), and presented as if they were found in an archeological excavation of a fashion-civilization.

You wrote a fake text about “This Tribe” which – according to the results of radiocarbon analysis – settled in “This Territory” in the year 2016. One of the characteristics of this tribe was that they painted accessories white, because all other means of accumulating symbolic capital had already been exhausted. In this way you transfer us into our own future – with a few goosebumps from experiencing our own fugaciousness.

In this work you talk about how, today, it is possible to identify every subculture or “community” as a “tribe”, even if it does not belong to a common physical territory, because the basic principle that identifies a group is its clothing, cultural practices and interests. Today people can live in different parts of the world and be nevertheless connected as a community in the virtual space of a specific self-construction. What was decisive for the emergence of this project?

LKV: Ethnography, or as we say today, social anthropology. The courage of people to visit “others” and try to describe them from the viewpoint of their own imagination. The phenomenon of ethnographic photography was also important.

A fascination for different strategies of vestments: From men in Papua New Guinea who work all their life on a headdress made from their own hair, to jeans cut at the knee, to the wearing of baseball caps, and the cyclical and epidemic dissemination of such practices.

LA: For 18 years you have designed and produced two collections a year. What is your starting point? A text? The collection title? The silhouette? Something ephemeral? Feminine and masculine proportions? A shift? The combinatory potential?

[To be continued.]


* Teoriya mody began in 2006 and is published four times a year by the Moscow publisher NLO. It is the Russian issue of the magazine “Fashion Theory. The Journal of Dress, Body & Culture”. ISSN: 5-86793-472-1

In 2017, “Teoriya mody” published an extensive illustrated interview with Lena Kvadrat about her work as a designer and the development of her brand art point. The Russian version of the text is available online at the following address: NLO Books | Teoriya Mody No. 45. A translation into German and English is currently being prepared.

 

This content is also available in: Deutsch

Apparel & Accessories | Concept Store
Suche
Exakte Suche
Search in title
Search in content
Search in comments
Search in excerpt
Suche in
Webshop
Seiten
Beiträge

Mode öffnet neue Räume, in denen sich der Mensch bewegt.

art point Designerin Lena Kvadrat im Gespräch mit Liudmila Aliabieva, Moskauer Chefredakteurin der Zeitschrift „Fashion Theory“*

Erschienen in Rondo, Wochenendbeilage der Tageszeitung Der Standard, 14.10.2016

LA: Sie haben Ihre Marke art point Ende der 90er Jahre in Russland unter den Bedingungen der Transformationsökonomie gegründet. 2001 verlagerten Sie Ihre Aktivitäten nach Österreich, seither leben und arbeiten Sie in Wien. Ihre Kollektionen tragen Titel wie „Krise des Körpers“, „Spuren“, „Falte“ oder aktuell „Re:validation“. Dazu schreiben Sie Texte und Essays.

Ihre Kleidung ist tragbar, aber auf dem Podium präsentieren Sie sie in Form von Performances, ergänzen sie durch „untragbare“ Attribute/Accessoires wie weiße Skateboards, Brillen mit weißen Gläsern, Perücken auf überdimensionalen Schirmen von Baseballkappen. Zu Ihrer Kollektion „Escapism“ haben Sie sogar einen eigenen Songtext geschrieben…

Sie betreiben seit vielen Jahren einen Concept Store in Wien-Neubau, den Sie vor Kurzem erweitert und neu gestaltet haben. Zugleich festigen Sie die Position Ihrer Marke auf einem internationalen Niveau. Ihre Kleidung trägt man in Kanada, USA, Russland, China, Japan.

Ausgehend von diesen Eckdaten hinsichtlich der Entwicklung Ihrer Tätigkeit möchte ich Ihnen die erste Frage stellen: Welche Rolle spielt die „Theorie der Mode“ in Ihrer Arbeit als Designerin?

LKV: Modetheorie als strukturelles Modell nährt unser Verständnis davon, dass es zwischen Begriffen und Phänomenen in der Realität keine klare Grenze gibt, beide sind Elemente eines Gesamtsystems. Sie hilft uns über Wasser zu bleiben, in Momenten der Geburt und des Todes von Trends.

Diesen schnelllebigen Erscheinungen liegen unterschiedliche Informationsschichten zugrunde: körperliche Praktiken, die Dualität der Mode, die Wahrnehmung von sich selbst als eines Anderen mittels Kleidung, kulturelle Codes, Paradigmenwechsel.

Theorie dient uns als Koordinatensystem, das uns hilft, den optimalen Weg für die eigene Arbeit zu finden und nicht im „Ocean of Fashion“ unterzugehen.

LA: Sie definieren den Verkaufsvorgang als einen rein kommunikativen Prozess. Sie führen mit Ihren MitarbeiterInnen Seminare durch und bieten diese auch öffentlich an. Typische Initiationsdialoge zwischen Verkäufer und Kunde in der Art von „Kann ich Ihnen helfen?“ oder „Suchen Sie etwas Bestimmtes?“ sind bei Ihnen vollständig ausgeklammert. Was bieten Sie Ihren KundInnen stattdessen an?

LKV: Ja, ich verstehe Mode tatsächlich in erster Linie als eine Form der Kommunikation. Für den Verkauf bedeutet das vor allem darauf zu achten, worauf der Blick des Kunden gerichtet ist.

Die erste Information über das Produkt muss prägnant sein und in einer möglichst spielerischen Form erfolgen, d.h. ein eher „plakativer“ Zugang zur Informationsvermittlung. Suggestive Fragen in Bezug auf körperliche Bedürfnisse nach Wärme oder Kühle, Länge oder Kürze, Enge oder Weite helfen bei der Formierung eines Bildes vom potentiellen Kauf.

„Potenzialität“ ist für mich ein Schlüsselbegriff in der Verkaufstheorie. Der Kunde braucht heute, was den materiellen Aspekt der Ware betrifft, gar nichts. Es geht nicht darum, was wir anziehen wollen, sondern vielmehr um die indirekte Zugehörigkeit zu einer Idee, den Wunsch etwas in seinem Blickfeld zu haben, zu besitzen, um eine Form des Teilhabens.

Mode kommuniziert den permanenten Überhang in die eine oder andere Richtung, sie lässt die Waage nicht im Zustand des Gleichgewichts erstarren. Das bereits Gesehene wird uninteressant aus der Perspektive der Neuheit, aber es wird weiter getragen aus der Sicht der Erfahrung. Und am Ende der Saison schwingt das Pendel der Weite, Dicke, Länge und sonstiger Parameter zurück in die exakt entgegengesetzte Richtung, wozu?

Damit die Ökonomie des „Aha!“-Effekts sich automatisiert und so den nächsten Bewusstseinsschritt nach sich zieht. Der Wechsel – das ist es, was den Menschen beschäftigt. Eine neue Kombination von Bestandteilen. Mode kennt keine ungeschriebenen Verbote… auf Dauer. Sie erinnert uns selbst an das ephemere Wesen jeglicher Stabilität. Der Kunde sucht heute Ideen, die sein Eingeschrieben-Sein in die Welt des Potentiellen widerspiegeln.

Die wesentlichen Momente der Kommunikation mit Kunden sind für mich: Kürze, Geschwindigkeit, Humor. Ein Schlüssel zur Situation: Um die Richtung, in die sich die Gedanken des Kunden bewegen, schneller zu verstehen, zeigen wir nicht ein, sondern zwei Modelle aus einer Gruppe. Wir kommentieren das Produkt aus der Perspektive seiner funktionalen Besonderheiten, seiner Position innerhalb der einen oder anderen Dualität der Mode, und nicht ausgehend von der emotionalen Wahrnehmung des Verkäufers.

Lena Kvadrat | Re:validation. Black & white post-ethnographic notes, 2016 | Digitaldruck auf Backlit Display | 240 x 160 cm

LA: Ich habe die Redaktion gebeten, unserem Dialog ein Bild voranzustellen, das im Rahmen Ihres letzten künstlerischen Projekts „Post-Ethnographic Notes“ entstanden ist. In dieser Arbeit spielen Sie mit der Thematik von Mode-Kampagnen.

Für das Shooting, an dem einige Ihrer Stammkundinnen teilnahmen, wurden Modelle aus der kommenden Sommerkollektion 2017 verwendet, die Sie schon auf internationalen Messen präsentiert haben und die derzeit für Ihre Vertriebspartner produziert werden.

In den Vitrinen der Ausstellung wurden unter Glas Accessoires (Schuhe, Taschen, Schmuck) gezeigt, bei denen es sich vorgeblich um Fundstücke von Ausgrabungen einer Mode-Zivilisation handelt.

Dazu verfassten Sie einen Fake-Text über „Diesen Stamm“, der – so die Ergebnisse einer Radiokarbonanalyse – „Dieses Territorium“ im Jahr 2016 besiedelte. Zu den Besonderheiten dieses Stammes zählte das Übermalen von Accessoires mit weißer Farbe, da zu diesem Zeitpunkt alle anderen Praktiken der Akkumulation symbolischen Kapitals bereits ausgeschöpft waren. Auf diese Weise versetzen Sie uns gleichsam selbst in unsere eigene Zeit – mit ein wenig Gänsehaut, die das Faktum der Vergänglichkeit bei uns hervorruft.

Sie sprechen in dieser Arbeit davon, dass man heute jede Subkultur als einen „Stamm“ bezeichnen kann, also jede Art von „Community“, selbst wenn diese keinem gemeinsamen physischen Territorium angehört, da die Grundlage für die Identität einer Gruppe ihre Kleidung, kulturellen Praktiken und Interessen sind. Menschen können heute in verschiedensten Winkeln der Welt leben und dennoch im virtuellen Raum einer bestimmten Selbstkonstruktion zu einer Gemeinschaft verbunden sein. Was war ausschlaggebend für die Entstehung dieses Projekts?

LKV: Die Ethnographie oder, wie man heute sagt, Sozialanthropologie. Der Mut von Menschen zu „anderen“ zu gehen und zu versuchen, sie aus der Sicht der eigenen Vorstellungen zu beschreiben. Das Phänomen der ethnographischen Fotografie.

Die Faszination für verschiedene vestimentäre Strategien: Von papua-neuguineischen Männern, die ihr Leben lang an einer Kopfbedeckung aus Eigenhaar arbeiten, bis hin zu im Kniebereich geschlitzten Jeans, dem Tragen von Baseballkappen und die zyklisch-epidemische Ausbreitung derartiger Praktiken.

LA: Sie entwerfen und produzieren nun schon 18 Jahre lang jeweils zwei Kollektionen jährlich. Was ist dabei Ihr Ausgangspunkt? Ein Text? Der Kollektionstitel? Die Silhouette? Etwas Flüchtiges? Die Proportion von Feminin und Maskulin? Eine Verschiebung? Das kombinatorische Potential?

[Fortsetzung folgt.]

 


* Teorija mody erscheint seit 2006 vierteljährlich im Moskauer Verlag NLO als russischer Ableger der Zeitschrift „Fashion Theory. The Journal of Dress, Body & Culture“. ISSN: 5-86793-472-1

 

This content is also available in: English

Secured By miniOrange